Our History

2010 – 2011

The Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Arts was chartered in this year under the guidance of Past DRR Rtr. PP Abdul Wahid Sathar. The Club consisted of 24 members who collectively had the aim of allowing young men and women of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Colombo to join in a common platform to serve the community while encouraging personal development. These charter members also had the need to provide an opportunity for the future graduates to enhance the knowledge and skills that will assist them for a successful career in the future. The Club’s well- recognized and oldest project Inter- Rotaract Basketball Tournament was initiated in this year.

2011 – 2012

Upon the successful completion of the year 2010-11, the Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Arts continued under the guidance and leadership of Rtr. PP Thakshala Tissera, who took up her duties as President for the year 2011-12. The club was recognized for completing the District Citation, Rotary Change Maker, Best Reporting Club Award, and Best Installation Award.


Rtr. PP Sandhuni Warnasuriya, after being elected as President for the year 2012-13, took up her duties after an encouraging year under the guidance of Rtr. Thakshala Tissera. The year 2012-13 marks a significant milestone in the Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Arts because its signature and most recognized project, the Club Service initiative Baila Night was initiated in this year. The Club also undertook other various initiatives during the year.

2013 – 2014

The year 2013-14 marked another significant point in the history of the Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Arts with the election and installation of the 4th President of the club, Past DRR Rtn. Anuradha Senanayake. Under her guidance and the work undertaken by the Committee for the year, the club initiated several of its signature projects such as DebateMate and Kuppiya. Furthermore, the club was recognized for District Citation, RI Presidential Citation, President of the Month of March, Most Outstanding Cluster of the year (Cluster 2), Most supportive club of the year – Silver Award, Most supportive club of the year – Silver Award, Most Outstanding Project of the year (International Understanding). Rtr. Anuradha would, after successful completion of her year, go on to become the District Rotaract Representative for the year 2017/18, well- known for her experience and seniority in the movement.

2014 – 2015 

In the year 2014-15 the Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Arts functioned under the guidance of Rtr. PP Atarah Senn and her Committee. The Club continued initiatives such as Baila Night, DebateMate, Inter- Rotaract Basketball Tournament and Kuppiya in the year in a successful and inspirational manner. This year, Rtr. PP Atarah Senn was appointed as District Editor, Rtr. Zahrah Rizwan as Special Projects Coordinator and DRRE at the time, Rtr. PP Anuradha Senanayake as Club Service Director of Rotaract District 3220 Sri Lanka and Maldives.

2015 – 2016

After an eventful year under the guidance of Rtr. PP Atarah Senn, Rtr. PP Charya Gamalath took up her duties as the President of the club. In this year, the signature Community Service projects of the club, Hope through Health and Espoir were initiated. The club explored new horizons with these projects while continuing the other signature traditions of the club including DebateMate, Baila Night and the Inter- Rotaract Basketball Tournament. The club was awarded as the Most Supportive Club, and SLAM was awarded Best Club Service Project (Silver).

2016 – 2017

One of the club’s most successful years led by Rtr. PP Amristar Wickramaratne. This year proved to be one to remember with the club being recognized as one of the most outstanding clubs of the Rotaract Movement. Furthermore, the club hosted the Rotaract District Assembly along with the Rotaract Club of Colombo Midtown and the Rotaract Club of Wellawatte for the appointment of the second DRR from the club, PDRR Rtn. Anuradha Senanayake. Furthermore, the club was awarded Most Outstanding Rotaract Club for the year 2016-17, Most Outstanding Club President for the year 2016-17- Rtr. Amristar Wickramaratna, Most Outstanding Club Secretary for the year 2016-17- Rtr. Pramodha Weerasekera, Gold Award- Most Outstanding Community Service Project in the Category of Peace and Reconciliation, Gold Award – Most Outstanding International Service Project, Silver Award- Blog of the Year. 

2017 – 2018

Rtr. PP Ruwanthi Soysa was elected as the President and guided the club throughout, with the continuation of the club’s signature projects such as DebateMate, Kuppiya, and Baila Night. Furthermore, the club undertook various initiatives throughout the year and was awarded Most Outstanding “Rotaract Fellowship” Club Service project Silver Award for Baila Night.

2018 – 2019

The club was led by Rtr. PP Dinandi Samaraweera who continued the Club’s tradition for excellence and continued projects such as Kuppiya and Baila Night. Further the club conducted many projects that focused on increasing the member base and was recognized for completing the District Citation.

2019 – 2020 

One of the club’s most successful years led by Rtr. PP Rasanjanee Polgampala. This year the club celebrated its 10th year of service which brought back projects such as Espoir, the club’s signature Community Service project, and the Inter Rotaract Basketball Tournament. Furthermore, the year saw the completion of 40 projects which included hosting the Rotaract Virtual District Conference along with the Rotaract Clubs of Kotelawala Defence University, and University of Moratuwa. The club was recognised for achieving the Rotary Citation with a Platinum distinction and was awarded at the 30th District Assembly for Best Club Service Initiative (Silver) – Baila Night, Most Innovative Project (Bronze) – SLAMM, Best Cluster Initiative (Bronze) – Rotaract Cook off by Cluster 5

2020 – 2021
In the year 2020-21 the Rotaract Club of University of Colombo, Faculty of Arts was led by Rtr. IPP Methmini Kariyakarawana. The club managed to execute many impactful projects throughout the year. Due to the pandemic situation at the time, the signature projects such as Kuppiya, and DebateMate were done with novel changes. Moreover, the club was awarded Silver Awards for the Most Supportive and Most Participative Club of the year and Bronze Award for the Fandom Fight Club project as the Most Outstanding Overall Public Relations Effort For An Virtual Initiative. Additionally, SLAMM was another noteworthy initiative during 2020-21 and it was recognized as the Most Outstanding Initiative Under The Theme Strive As One (Gold) and Most Outstanding Club service Initiative Focused On Fellowship (Gold) at the Rotaract District Assembly.